It was held yesterday - Tuesday 7 September – presso lo spazio Hollywood Celebrities Lounge Venice, the premiazione of the twentieth edition of Mimmo Rotella Foundation Award, Collateral Event of the 78th edition of the Mostra Internazionale d’Arte Cinematografica di Venezia, dedicated to the fruitful relationship between the languages ​​of cinema and art, nato nel 2001 by the will of the great Calabrian artist Mimmo Rotella (Catanzaro 1918 - Milan 2006). Nicola Canal, President of the Mimmo Rotella and Gianvito Casadonte Foundation, Artistic Director of the Prize, for this edition they have awarded and awarded the prestigious award to the director Mario Martone e all’attore Toni Servillo for the film "Here I laugh”.
The feature film, in competition at the Venice Film Festival is - we read in the motivation of the Award – “an extraordinary choral and sentimental story that takes us back in time, in the heart of the Belle Époque of the early twentieth century, digging into the roots of a Naples dripping with creativity. Mario Martone created a work full of profound human vigor, which fits well into the path of recovery and dissemination of popular culture through the languages ​​of art. A commitment to which Toni Servillo has lent body and soul, offering an exciting and vibrant portrait, suspended between stage and reality, of a genius of the theater like Eduardo Scarpetta”.

The Mimmo Rotella Foundation - declares Nicola Canalwith the aim of giving continuity to an event that in the recent past has seen its name associated with the great protagonists of national and international cinema, intended to reward two personalities who contributed this year, with their work, to bring back to the cinema the story of a genius of the theater like Eduardo Scarpetta, and Naples in the early twentieth century, where they experimented, first, the languages ​​of visual art. I am really happy and proud – conclude Canalto present this recognition to Toni Servillo and Mario Martone, authentic interpreters of the spirit and mission that characterize our Award”.
Martone and Servillo join the rich parterre of protagonists who received the Mimmo Rotella Foundation Award nel corso degli ultimi anni. Among these: Mick Jagger, Donald Sutherland, Giuseppe Capotondi, Julian Schnabel, Willem Dafoe, George Clooney, Michael Caine, Ai Weiwei, Jude Law, Paolo Sorrentino, James Franco, Terry Gilliam, Al Pacino, Johnny Depp, Alexander Sokurov, Berry Levinson, Joao Botelho, Julie Taymor, Takeshi Kitano, Abel Ferrara, Gianni Amelio, Peter Greenaway, Ascanio Celestini, Gian Alfonso Pacinotti and Olivier Assayas.

Be first to comment

Leave a Reply

Contenuto non disponibile
Consenti i cookie cliccando su "Accetta" nel banner"

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam,,en,Learn how your comment data is processed,,en. Learn how your comment data is processed.